The Winners of Icons of Whisky Australia 2018

Australia’s inaugural Icons of Whisky Awards were announced last night at the Whiskies and Spirits Conference held at the Adelaide Convention Centre in Adelaide, Australia.

Icons of Whisky Australia 2018

The Icons of Whisky Awards celebrate the distilleries, outlets and the men and women behind the doors who dedicate their lives to whisky and its creation. Following a process of local voting on industry nominees, finalists in sixteen categories were scrutinised by a judging panel from the Icons of Whisky team in London.

Two awards – Highly Commended and Winner were presented in each group with the 16 Australian winners now automatically entered to compete to be named best in the world in March 2018 at the World Whisky Awards to be held in London.

In addition, a Whisky Magazine Hall of Fame award (presented in years only when warranted) to recognise outstanding contribution to the industry was presented to Gordon Broderick. Gordon has recently retired, but over the past decades he has worked to support and grow whisky in Australia – primarily through his role as Executive Director of the Distilled Spirits Industry Council of Australia.

Here is the full list of the winners and highly commended Icons of Whisky Australia 2018.

Icons of Whisky Australia 2018


Distillery Manager
Winner: Cameron Syme – Great Southern Distillery
Highly Commended: Patrick Maguire – Sullivans Cove

Visitor Attraction Manager of the Year

Winner: Sharon Deane – Hellyers Road
Highly Commended: John Rochfort – The McLaren Vale Distillery

Scotch Whisky Brand Ambassador of the Year

Winner: Daniel Hutchins-Read – Glenrothes / Berry Bros
Highly Commended: Dan Woolley – The Exchange/CCA

World Whisky Brand Ambassador of the Year

Winner: Joey Tai – Baranows Emporium
Highly Commended: Paul Slater – New World Whisky Distillery

Irish Whiskey Brand Ambassador of the Year

Winner: Kate Moran – Pernod Ricard
Highly Commended: Vincent McGrath – Rogue Wines

American Whiskey Brand Ambassador of the Year

Winner: Grant Shearon – Brown-Forman
Highly Commended: Michael Thomas – The Exchange /CCA

Master Distiller / Master Blender of the Year

Winner: Ben Kagi – Great Southern Distilling Company
Highly Commended: Sam Slaney – New World Whisky Distillery


Supermarket of the Year

Winner: Dan Murphys
Highly Commended: The Oak Barrel

Single Outlet Retailer of the Year

Winner: Casa de Vinos
Highly Commended: The Oak Barrel

Online Retailer of the Year

Winner: Nicks Wine Merchants
Highly Commended: Casa de Vinos

Multiple Outlets Retailer of the Year

Winner: Hurley Cellars
Highly Commended: Black Sheep Stores

Travel Retailer Of The Year

Winner: Aelia (Adelaide)
Highly Commended: Heinemann (Sydney)


Brand Innovator of the Year

Winner: The McLaren Vale Distillery
Highly Commended: New World Whisky

Craft Producer of the Year

Winner: Sullivans Cove Distillery
Highly Commended: Whipper Snapper Distillery

Distiller of the Year

Winner: New World Whisky
Highly Commended: Great Southern Distilling

Visitor Attraction of the Year

Winner: Hellyers Road Distillery
Highly Commended: Belgrove Distillery

The Winners of Icons of Whisky Australia 2018 was last modified: August 9th, 2017 by Corinne Mossati
Corinne Mossati

Corinne Mossati is the Founder/Editor of Cocktails & Bars and popular online magazine Gourmantic. She is named in the Australian Bartender Magazine Top 100 Most Influential List since 2013, is a member of The World’s 50 Best Bars Academy who judges the World’s 50 Best Bars. She has also judged the Australasian Whisky Awards and various national cocktail competitions. Read the full bio here.